Crypto lending, risk first

Lend Ledger

BorrowingDisclosureCounterparty

Can you pay off a bitcoin-backed loan early without penalty?

Mostly yes, but no penalty is not no cost. APX caps an early fee at 3 months' interest; SALT, Strike and Ledn print none. Read 8 October 2026.

By Staff, Lend Ledger

Usually, yes, but “no penalty” is not the same as “no cost”. Of four lender pages this desk read on 8 October 2026, SALT, Strike and Ledn state no prepayment penalty, while APX Lending, under a heading promising early repayment without penalty, caps an early prepayment fee at three months of interest.

That contradiction is where the risk sits. A borrower who repays early expecting to pay nothing can still meet a fee under another name, an upfront charge that is not handed back, or a minimum holding period. This is an evergreen explainer: the question does not change with the market, though each lender’s terms can, so every figure below is pinned to the page it came from. The binding terms are always the ones in your own loan agreement.

Can you pay off a bitcoin-backed loan early without penalty? Four lenders’ terms

Where a page states nothing, the row says so, about the page read rather than the contract.

Lender and page readPrepayment fee, as the page puts itOther costs the page namesDoes paying early cut interest?
APX Lending, repayment guide“Capped at just 3 months of interest”, under the heading “Early Repayment Without Penalty”Monthly minimum interest payments; rates “as low as 13.99%”Yes: simple interest, so a part-prepayment is charged only on the remaining portion
SALT, personal-loan page“Loan is repayable at any time with no penalty”APR of 7.49% to 10.50%, “inclusive of interest and origination fees, where applicable”Not stated
Strike, borrow page“Zero origination, prepayment, closure, or missed payment fees”None named; its $10,000 example is “Available in select US states” and “Illustrative only”Not stated
Ledn, product page and its Strike comparison (updated 7 September 2026)“0 Early repayment penalty”A 2% administrative fee that “generally applies outside Canada and the United States”Interest accrues daily and is due at closure; the saving is not worked through
Coinbase, loan-payment help pageNot read: the page answered 403Not readNot read

What the APX fee costs on $10,000

At APX’s lowest advertised rate of 13.99%, three months of interest on $10,000 is $349.75. That is this desk’s arithmetic, not APX’s, and it is a floor: a borrower priced above 13.99% pays proportionally more. The page calls the fee capped, so it may come in lower. It does not say whether the three months are charged on the original principal or on what is still outstanding at payoff, and the difference grows with every partial repayment made before closing. On the APX repayment guide, heading and fee sit in adjacent sentences.

Where “no penalty” still leaves a cost

Upfront fees are the first gap. SALT’s personal-loan page folds origination fees, where applicable, into its APR, and Ledn generally applies its 2% administrative fee outside the US and Canada. None of the four lender pages, as read here, says whether an upfront origination or administrative fee is refunded on early payoff. A fee paid once on a twelve-month loan and closed after two months is simply spread over less borrowing.

Timing is the second. Strike’s own borrow page says borrowers can “prepay without penalty” and gives no day count. Ledn’s comparison page, a competitor’s account, says Strike’s public terms make early closure available only after the loan has been open for 60 days. This desk did not read Strike’s terms document, so that limit is Ledn’s reading, not a confirmed one.

Repaying also ends the price exposure this desk has covered elsewhere: the LTV levels at which lenders liquidate and the time each gives to meet a margin call. Strike’s separate structure is examined in our Volatility Proof Loans assessment.

Frequently asked questions

How are crypto loans paid back?

On the pages read here, in full or in part, from cash or from the collateral. APX says a borrower can deposit funds or sell a small amount of collateral, and asks for monthly minimum interest payments. Ledn’s comparison says its loans carry no scheduled monthly payment and interest is due when the loan closes. Strike’s calculator offers monthly or at-maturity payment.

What is the process for repaying a Bitcoin loan?

APX describes logging in, choosing a full or partial repayment amount and a method, then following on-screen instructions to complete the transfer. Ledn’s comparison adds that interest accrues daily, so the amount due depends on the day the loan closes. The exact payoff figure, and any fee attached to it, sits in the loan agreement rather than in any page read here.

Does repaying a crypto loan early reduce interest?

On a simple-interest loan it can. APX says that if you prepay part of a loan mid-way, you are charged interest only on the remaining portion, though its early prepayment fee, capped at three months of interest, can absorb part of that saving. The SALT and Strike pages read here do not say how early payoff changes the interest owed.

None of this is a view on whether any borrower should repay, refinance or hold a loan to term. Crypto lending carries a high risk of loss, including total loss of collateral through counterparty failure or liquidation, and an advertised “no penalty” is a lender’s description of its own product, not a guarantee. The agreement is the document that counts; read its payoff clause before the marketing page.